We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

European Parliament launches contest for young Europeans to attend Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony

November 14, 2012 4:40 PM
Originally published by East Midlands Liberal Democrats

The European Union has launched a drawing and writing contest for 8-24 years olds, with the four winners being invited to the 2012 Nobel Peace prize ceremony in Oslo. This contest is organised in partnership with the European Youth Forum. The four winners will be invited by the Presidents of the European Council, the European Commission and the European Parliament, to be part of the official delegation of the European Union that will travel to Oslo to receive this year's Peace Prize.

Launching today's contest, President Van Rompuy, President Barroso and President Schulz said, "The 2012 Nobel Peace prize is not only a recognition of the European Union's past achievements: it also looks to the future. Our task is always to inspire the next generation of Europeans. That is why we want Europe's youth, who are inheriting a continent of peace and who will be responsible for Europe's future, with us in Oslo".

"The Nobel Peace prize is an opportunity to remember the importance of the engagement of civil society and EU citizens, especially young people, in bringing about peace on the continent. Active young people were driving forces in a Europe growing together and a strong European youth is a prerequisite for a continuation of peaceful developments towards a united Europe" said Peter Matjašič, President of the European Youth Forum.

"Peace, Europe, Future: What does Peace in Europe mean to you?" This is the question put to young people from the EU and acceding or candidate countries aged between 8 and 24 years old. Children aged 8 to 12 should express their answer in a drawing, young people aged 13 to 24 in a short text of maximum 120 characters, in any of the 23 EU official languages.